Check-in 5 of 6: Final Taper (13 days left)

During the last few days I’ve been fluctuating between “Questioning Myself” and “I Got This”.

“Questioning Myself” for the following reasons:

  1. I have only done 5 swims, 4 runs and 4 rides to date.
  2. I couldn’t actually finish the 4km swim on my last attempt
  3. I didn’t complete the 180km ride on my last attempt
  4. I’ve never run a marathon
  5. Am I fooling myself that I can simply stroll up to the starting line and expect to finish?

“I Got This” for the simple reason that deep down… I know its in me to finish.

The hardest part will be calling it off if an injury begins to develop and potentially cause long-term damage. Overcoming the ego’s need to finish at the expense of long term health risks will be a hard one to swallow…

According to the rules, I could have done another training session 2 weeks out from the event, but instead I left town with my wife on a 5 day kayaking trip. It was a refreshing break from all the indoor yoga training, as you can imagine that training indoors everyday during these summer months has its own challenges.

As I begin to taper and pull back from attending yoga twice per day to just once per day, I am slowly feeling the accumulating effects of strength and flexibility from the 90 day effort.

In these last remaining days I’ll be spending more time on the mindfulness/meditative aspects of yoga.

 

James

Leave a comment